Skip to content
Sefton Counts — Sefton, in numbers.Local help →

Sefton, in numbers

People and living standards

Sefton council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Sefton council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 292,935 in 1991 to 287,583 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Sefton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 287,491 people in 1996; 287,583 people in 2025. Less than 0.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Sefton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991292,935
1992292,815
1993292,199
1994290,466
1995288,953
1996287,491
1997286,457
1998285,159
1999284,162
2000283,337
2001282,884
2002280,866
2003279,913
2004278,853
2005276,957
2006275,852
2007275,085
2008274,735
2009274,153
2010273,820
2011273,969
2012273,979
2013273,814
2014275,143
2015275,546
2016276,707
2017276,962
2018277,890
2019278,908
2020278,621
2021279,693
2022280,956
2023283,078
2024285,298
2025287,583
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Sefton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 58,915 people in 1996; 48,029 people in 2025. 18.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Sefton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199159,153
199259,530
199359,829
199459,856
199559,443
199658,915
199758,597
199858,141
199958,366
200057,791
200156,980
200255,729
200354,710
200453,779
200552,308
200650,952
200749,591
200848,577
200947,838
201047,487
201147,283
201246,961
201346,624
201446,693
201546,619
201646,783
201746,902
201847,002
201947,172
202046,845
202146,896
202247,409
202347,859
202448,101
202548,029
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Sefton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 175,319 people in 1996; 170,023 people in 2025. 3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Sefton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991181,606
1992180,871
1993179,623
1994177,900
1995176,524
1996175,319
1997174,571
1998173,612
1999172,443
2000172,139
2001172,315
2002171,132
2003170,893
2004170,477
2005170,019
2006170,086
2007170,442
2008170,668
2009170,254
2010169,678
2011169,320
2012167,962
2013167,118
2014167,434
2015167,348
2016167,609
2017167,094
2018167,346
2019167,215
2020167,067
2021167,639
2022167,591
2023168,206
2024169,117
2025170,023
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Sefton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,257 people in 1996; 69,531 people in 2025. 30.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Sefton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,176
199252,414
199352,747
199452,710
199552,986
199653,257
199753,289
199853,406
199953,353
200053,407
200153,589
200254,005
200354,310
200454,597
200554,630
200654,814
200755,052
200855,490
200956,061
201056,655
201157,366
201259,056
201360,072
201461,016
201561,579
201662,315
201762,966
201863,542
201964,521
202064,709
202165,158
202265,956
202367,013
202468,080
202569,531
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 279,233 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sefton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,2941.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,5090.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,0561.5%
White267,54095.8%
Other ethnic group1,8340.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 273,790 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sefton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White266,74197.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,8201%
Asian/Asian British2,7191%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British7960.3%
Other ethnic group7140.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 282,958 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sefton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White278,54098.4%
Mixed1,5840.6%
Asian/Asian British1,2150.4%
Black/Black British4380.2%
Chinese/Other1,1810.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 11.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Sefton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,223 per person in 1997; £23,038 per person in 2024. 105.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Sefton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,223
199811,455
199911,778
200011,639
200111,479
200211,883
200312,238
200412,650
200513,234
200613,471
200713,976
200814,274
200915,071
201015,227
201115,315
201215,899
201316,507
201416,578
201517,242
201617,460
201717,728
201817,932
201918,546
202018,763
202119,321
202220,337
202321,617
202423,038
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Sefton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 5.8% in 1997; -11.3% in 2024. 17.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Sefton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19975.8
19985.8
19994.1
2000-2.2
2001-7.2
2002-6.1
2003-6.1
2004-6.8
2005-5.9
2006-8
2007-8.9
2008-9.4
2009-5.9
2010-5.7
2011-6
2012-5.9
2013-5.8
2014-8.3
2015-9.4
2016-9.3
2017-10
2018-12.1
2019-12
2020-10.6
2021-11.5
2022-11.4
2023-11.6
2024-11.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.6%

21 March 2021 · Sefton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.8%

21 March 2021 · Sefton council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.7%

21 March 2021 · Sefton council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7%

21 March 2021 · Sefton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£224,000

July 2026 · Sefton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£938

August 2026 · Sefton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.